Thursday, May 24, 2018

The Less You Know About This Book, The Better!

Lies You Never Told Me
Lies You Never Told Me
Author: Jennifer Donaldson
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: May 29th, 2018
Gabe and Elyse have never met. But they both have something to hide.

Quiet, shy Elyse can't believe it when she's cast as the lead in her Portland high school's production of Romeo and Juliet. Her best friend, Brynn, is usually the star, and Elyse isn't sure she's up to the task. But when someone at rehearsals starts to catch her eye--someone she knows she absolutely shouldn't be with--she can't help but be pulled into the spotlight. 

Austin native Gabe is contemplating the unthinkable--breaking up with Sasha, his headstrong, popular girlfriend. She's not going to let him slip through her fingers, though, and when rumors start to circulate around school, he knows she has the power to change his life forever. 

Gabe and Elyse both make the mistake of falling for the wrong person, and falling hard. Told in parallel narratives, this twisty, shocking story shows how one bad choice can lead to a spiral of unforeseen consequences that not everyone will survive.
This book, you GUISE. Talk about a crazy, twisty thrill ride 

I ADORED IT!  

I had ZERO knowledge of what this story was actually about when I first started reading. The inner flap was intriguing but didn't necessarily scream, "THIS BOOK WILL BLOW YOUR MIND!"  

The characters, their narration, the plot, and how it all ties together is INSANE. My heart was beating so fast during certain scenes I had to take a break. There were also moments when I wanted to reach through the pages and shake certain characters and strangle others! 

Lies You Never Told Me follows multiple characters and is told through two perspectives. Gabe & Elyse are the two main protagonists and I adored both of their POV's. Their stories are told on completely different timelines though. So, when Gabe's chapter ended I was like, "OMG!? IT JUST GOT CRAZY I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!" And by the end of Elyse's chapter I was anxiously awaiting her next one—"WHAT!? HOW ARE WE ENDING IT THERE! I NEED TO KNOW MORE!!" This book is the epitome of "just one more chapter!"  

Gah! I could go on and on about this book but I feel if I over explain I'll give something away! And honestly, this book is best knowing barely anything at all.  

HIGHLY RECOMMEND! 


Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Can't Wait Wednesday: The Me I Meant to Be

Can't-Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted here, at Wishful Endings, to spotlight and discuss the books we're excited about that we have yet to read. Generally they're books that have yet to be released. It's based on Waiting on Wednesday, hosted by the fabulous Jill at Breaking the Spine.
The Me I Meant to Be
Girl Code: Never date a friend’s ex.

Willa Evans has no intention of breaking the code. So what if she’s always secretly loved her next-door neighbor Zach? As her best friend’s boyfriend, he was always off-limits and it needs to stay that way, even though they just broke up. Even though every time she turns around he’s there, tempting her…

No keeping secrets from your bestie.

Flor Hidalgo has a lot on her plate: her breakup with Zach, her dad’s new dating life, and her struggling grades. So why can’t she stop thinking about her hot, know-it-all tutor? At least she’s got Willa, her constant in the chaos.

Breaking the code breaks friendships.

Two friends find themselves tempted by love that defies the rules in this steamy romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Simone Elkeles.
 
I absolutely adore Sophie's writing so i am SO excited for this one!! Steamy romance? I am so there!

What are YOU waiting on this week!?

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Teaser Tuesday: Save the Date

To participate all you have to do is:

Grab your current read
Open to a random page
Share two (2) "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure what you share doesn't give too much away! You don't want to ruin the book for others!) 
 Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Save the DateI wasn't sure how it had happened. But Jesse Foster was kissing me. {ARC pg. 1}
Strong start I'd say ;) 
I'm looking foward to more swoons and lots of chaos!


Thursday, May 17, 2018

Talk About a Sinking Ship.

Changes in Latitudes
Author: Jen Malone
Publisher: Harper Teen
Release Date: July 25th, 2017
All Cassie wants is to get some solid ground under her feet following the shock of her parents’ divorce. So when she learns of her mom’s plans to take Cassie and her brother, Drew, on a four-month sailing trip from Oregon to Mexico, she’s stunned. There is absolutely nothing solid about the Pacific Ocean.

Cassie is furious. And nervous. It’s been hard enough keeping Drew sheltered from what Cassie knows about her mother’s role in breaking their family apart, but living in such close quarters threatens to push her anger past its tipping point.

Enter Jonah, a whip-smart deckhand who’s as gorgeous as he is flirtatious. Cassie tries to keep him at a distance, but the more time they spend together—wandering San Francisco, riding beachside roller coasters, and exploring the California coastline—the harder it is to fight the attraction.

Cassie wants to let herself go, but her parents’ split has left her feeling adrift in a sea of questions she can’t even begin to answer. Can she forgive her mom? Will home ever feel the same? Should she take a chance on Jonah? With life’s unpredictable tides working against her, Cassie must decide whether to swim against them…or dive right in.
 ~Goodreads

I really wanted to like this book—in fact it started off really strong—yet while reading the second chapter, I knew it would be a struggle to finish. 

The story telling in Changes in Latitudes was very choppy. Huge chunks of time are missing from one scene to the next. There were moments I felt as though I skipped a page or paragraph—but alas, I did not. Along with that, this book was way too long, the plot unnecessarily repetitive and drawn out. 

If you've read the above synopsis, congratulations, you've read the book. No joke. The synopsis gives away almost the entire story.  There is nothing to learn about the main character making her lackluster, flat and boring.  

Another thing that was a total miss—the romance. It was completely forced. The love interest was thrown at the reader. Cassie and his relationship is predictable, (I.e. synopsis!) and anything but swoony. Even their kissing scenes dragged. Dudes....you know when I don’t fall for a love interest something is off. 

All I have left to say is: skip this one, y'all